NEW HAVEN, Conn. (WTNH): A new year means new laws go into effect in Connecticut.
Starting Thursday, minimum wage will be going up in the state. Connecticut is one of 21 states across the country giving an increase to low wage workers. This comes after protests from those who work in retail and the fast food industry. Minimum wage has gone up 45 cents, bringing the rate to $9.15/hour.
“I worked low-paying jobs my whole life so anything for the little guy is good.” said David Dupuis of New Haven.
Riders on the rails can also expect to see a 1% increase when they buy Metro-North tickets. It’s all part of a seven year plan where passengers pay for a portion of new rail cars on the New Haven Line.
“I don’t think i’s going to bother me,” said Ashley Childers of Tolland. “It’s going to something that’s going to make the train ride nicer.”
The first of the year also marks the start of a program, allowing undocumented immigrants in the state to get a driver’s license. However, it can only be used for driving purposes and cannot be used as a form of identification.
Those who enjoy the outdoors will also see some changes in 2015. If you provide hunting and fishing guide services you now have to pay a $100 fee every year and register with the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection. Also, the price of fishing, hunting and trapping licenses for 16 and 17 year olds has been reduced by 50%.