BETHANY, Conn. (WTNH) — The Connecticut State Police continue to crackdown on people who are texting or talking on their cell phone while driving.
“It’s certainly not about compiling stats in terms of tickets,” said Sgt. Shane Hassett, spokesperson for the Connecticut State Police. “We are trying to curb behavior.”
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month and state police say within the past 10 days they’ve handed out several hundred tickets to drivers. They’re also using a data driven computer system which pinpoints problem areas in the state that are notorious for speeding and crashes. These areas are known as “hot spots” and are displayed on a laptop inside a trooper’s vehicle.
“They are able to go out into those areas and find the distracted drivers on their cell and texting and causing accidents which we are trying to prevent,” said Hassett.
State Police also tell News 8 that they are able to tell if someone is on their phone, even if the driver thinks it’s not noticeable.
“You can actually see the glow from the cell phone coming at the driver’s face,” said Trooper Eileen Perchinski. “Or you can see them weaving in the lane, unable to maintain a lane. Sometimes you can drive up next to them and they don’t realize you’re there because they are on their phone.”
If you’re ticketed for being on your cell while behind the wheel it does come with a hefty fine. A first offense is $150, second offense is $300 and a third offense is $500