LEDYARD, Conn. (WTNH) — An old historic gem, the Ledyard Up-Down Sawmill, is tucked away on Lee’s Brook in town.
“It’s about the only operating saw mill of this type on its original mill site. The original mill built on this site was in the 1790’s. The mill that’s here right now is probably 1860.”
“You’ve got a tank, and the water enters the tank, flows down to the turbine at the bottom, spins the turbine which drives our shafts, and pulls the saw up and down. We have a valve that’s ran from upstairs that turns our turbine on and off.”
“The mill is open two months in the spring, April and May, on Saturdays from 1-4, and it’s also open in the fall.”
“We get anywhere from 20 to 50 or 60 people during that three-hour period.”
“They like to see the mill work, they’re interested in how the logs are processed and things like that, how we move it. We bring all our wood in by hand; it’s labor intensive.”
“A lot of the work that’s done around here is done by volunteer labor and they’ve been pretty enthusiastic and they just like working with the mill.”
“In the modern age where everybody is glued to their computer screens and things like that, there’s no computers involved in this, it’s basic physical labor that operates the thing. Hopefully it’ll be here in 100 years from now, still cutting wood.”
For more about the mill, click here.