Ease the heartache of your breakup with new Facebook features

(Image: Shutterstock)

(WTNH) — Facebook is testing new features to help users deal with the pain of a breakup on social media.

Facebook announced on Thursday that it is trying out new tools to “help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended.”


Users will be prompted to try out these tools when they change their relationship status to show that they are no longer in a relationship. The tool allows users to choose to see less of their former partner’s name and profile around Facebook, without having to block or unfriend them.

Facebook says if users opt in, they won’t see their ex’s posts in their News Feed and their name won’t pop up as a suggestion when writing a new message, or tagging friends in pictures.


The new tools also allow users to edit past posts. Users can change who can see their past posts with said ex, as well as untag themselves from posts with that person.

Facebook says the tools are optional for all users and can be accessed in the help center.

WTNH NEWS8 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Also, you can now block any inappropriate user by simple selecting the drop down menu on the right of any comment and selection "Block User" from there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s