Higher cigarette tax among new Connecticut laws kicking in

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) — A number of new laws will take effect in Connecticut on Friday, the first day of the new fiscal year, including many provisions in the newly revised $19.7 billion state budget. Following are highlights of some of the new laws.



Smokers will have pay 25 cents more for a pack of cigarettes in Connecticut. Starting Friday, the state’s tax will become $3.90 a pack, making it the second highest cigarette tax in the nation. Lawmakers imposed a phased-in 50 cent increase last year to help close the budget deficit.



With the start of the new fiscal year, Gov. Dannel P. Malloy’s budget director says he’ll exercise authority granted to him in the new budget to withhold funds from state agencies. Ben Barnes, the secretary of the Office of Policy and Management, was granted the authority to withhold approximately $130 million or 0.7 percent of the state’s general fund, its main spending account. Barnes assigned savings targets to agencies across state government. The executive, legislative and judicial branches of government are all affected.



Public and private colleges across the state will be required to adopt policies regarding “clear and voluntary” student consent to sexual activity. The policy has been described as yes means yes. While most schools in the state already have similar policies, proponents said they wanted all colleges and universities in Connecticut to have the same standard.



State-run community colleges will be allowed to begin forming special police forces to patrol their campuses. Ultimately, these armed police forces will have to be approved by Connecticut’s Board of Regents for Higher Education. The officers will generally have the same powers as municipal police and must be certified by the Police Officer Standards and Training Council. The legislation was in response to student and teacher concerns following the mass shooting at Umpqua Community College in Oregon.



Connecticut will now have requirements and standards for student loan services. These entities will have to apply for a state license and list any history of criminal convictions. The state will be able to issue a license if the applicant’s financial condition is sound and it has conducted business “honestly, fairly, equitably, carefully, efficiently” and in a manner “commanding the community’s confidence and trust.”



A deceased Connecticut resident’s wine and liquor collection can now be sold at auction, under certain circumstances. Under a new law, liquor listed in an estate’s inventory filed with a probate court can be sold or transferred without a liquor permit. Proponents of the change said there was no legal way to legally re-sell alcohol and liquor from estates. Some collections have been sold at auction in neighboring New York. Ultimately, the probate court with jurisdiction over the estate and the state’s consumer protection commissioner to approve the transaction.


Source: Connecticut Office of Legislative Research and Office of Policy and Management.

WTNH NEWS8 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Also, you can now block any inappropriate user by simple selecting the drop down menu on the right of any comment and selection "Block User" from there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s