Honoring The State’s Movers and Shakers Still in the Workplace


BLOOMFIELD, CT, June 19, 2017 – Of the 60 members of the 2017 60 Over 60 class, 26 are still currently working. They are leading, heading organizations, creating new businesses, and keeping long-time businesses going and innovating. Duncaster founded these awards to recognize those in Connecticut who are age 60 or better and who have an impact on their worlds in their own unique ways.

Members of the 2017 class of 60 Over 60 were recently honored at a reception at Duncaster.  Those honored include people who are dedicating their lives to public service, authors, artists, poets, volunteers, caregivers, healthcare professionals and executives with some of the state’s most influential institutions.  They are pioneers and change-makers.  They broke rules.  They made new ones.  They did things first and they continue to kick-start change.  They made history and they honor it. The recipients came from 25 towns across the state and were nominated by colleagues, friends, family members and admirers.

Members of the 2017 Class of 60 Over 60 who are still working class are:

  •                 Reathie Baily, First Lady of the First Cathedral
  •                 David Baram, CT State House of Representatives, Legislature’s Chair
  •                 Gerry Berthiaume, New Britain Bees, General Manager
  •                 Joan Formeister, Duncaster
  •                 Howard Steven Frydman, Bloomfield Access Television, General Manager
  •                 Linda Gabianelli, Prosser Public Library, Supervisor of Children’s Services
  •                 Molly Gavin, Connecticut Community Care, Inc., President
  •                 Ann Grasso, Architect
  •                 Louise Loomis, ThinkWell Center, Founder
  •                 John Marona, Eastern Mountain Sports
  •                 Rennie McQuilkin, Author, Poet
  •                 Leah P. Moon, Autism Families Connecticut, President
  •                 William Paluska, Opportunity Works CT, Inc., Founder
  •                 Roberta Prescott, The Prescott Group, President
  •                 Ronna Reynolds, The Bushnell Center for the Performing Arts, Executive VP
  •                 Donald “Dee” Rowe, UConn, University Ambassador
  •                 William Ruel, Wells Fargo
  •                 Bernie Siegel, Author and Radio Personality
  •                 Laura Soll, Founder, Laura Soll Public Relations, LLC.
  •                 Karin Stahl, Author
  •                 Andrea Thiede, KardasLarson, LLC, Consultant
  •                 Patti Vassia, YMCA, Executive Director
  •                 Joan Walden, Adjunct professor and President of the West Hartford Chapter of Toastmasters
  •                 Edith Whitman, Founder, Edith Whitman Interiors, Interior Deesigner
  •                 Anne Williamson, Reiki Practitioner
  •                 Ira Yellen, Founder, First Experience Communications

WTNH NEWS8 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Also, you can now block any inappropriate user by simple selecting the drop down menu on the right of any comment and selection "Block User" from there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s