Uber now lets you add multiple stops to your ride

FILE - This Wednesday, June 21, 2017, file photo shows the building that houses the headquarters of Uber, in San Francisco. Transport for London says it won't renew a license for Uber to operate in the British capital. (AP Photo/Eric Risberg, File)

(CNN) — Uber is finally adding a multiple stops feature.

The company announced a new tool on Thursday that lets users add up to three stops to a trip.

The feature is rolling out globally and most customers will see it in their apps starting on Thursday, according to an Uber spokeswoman. Only customers with the latest version of the app will be able to add multiple stops.

Previously, Uber customers had to either change their destination in the middle of a trip or meet friends at one place to catch the same ride.

Related Content: Facebook takes on food delivery, challenges Uber and others

To use the tool, tap “Where to?” and then the “+” option. From there, you can add the addresses of the stops and request a ride. Users can also make changes during the trip and add or remove stops in real time.

Riders can split the fare of the trip, but it will be divided evenly and not by the cost of each stop. The feature is not available for UberPOOL rides.

This is the latest of a bunch of recent Uber updates that aim to improve customer and drivers’ experiences. This summer, Uber announced in-app messaging for drivers and riders and added the option to request a ride for a family member or friend in your phone’s contact list. It also added the ability to tip drivers earlier this year.

WTNH NEWS8 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review. Also, you can now block any inappropriate user by simple selecting the drop down menu on the right of any comment and selection "Block User" from there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s